St. John's Vestry

St. John's Vestry

The vestry is the legal representative of the parish with regard to all matters pertaining to its corporate property. The number of vestry members and the term of office varies from parish to parish. Vestry members are usually elected at the annual parish meeting. The presiding officer of the vestry is the rector. There are usually two wardens. At St. John's the wardens lead the parish between rectors, is a support person for the rector and often have the responsibility for church property and buildings. A treasurer and a secretary or clerk may be chosen. These officers may or may not be vestry members. The basic responsibilities of the vestry are to help define and articulate the mission of the congregation; to support the church's mission by word and deed, to select the rector, to ensure effective organization and planning, and to manage resources and finances.

Vestry Members

2022 - Annual Parish Election Results

Warden, Jr: Joydeth Lacey-Amos  - Elected (2 yr Term)                            

Vestry:    Roxann Samuel – Elected (completing 2 yr term)

                 Stanley Hall - Elected (completing 2 yr term)

                 Veronica Williams – Elected (3 yr term)

                 Jennifer Weekes - Elected (3 yr term)

                 Marcel Roberts -  Elected (3 yr term)

Thank you to all the candidates for their prayers, discernment and answering the call to be considered to serve on the vestry. We continue to pray for those who have been elected that God may bless their time of service and give them strength, wisdom, and love.